Fixing the Balls

Please try not to laugh at the title- I wanted to go back and fix some of the original ball animations I created as they didn’t look right in some cases.

Alec did a really useful exercise on blocking animation with the balls, showing how Maya fills in the in between frames, but no giving the arcs we need. I used this splined animation idea in my work as I found it easier to show what I wanted to create.

Closest ball has two frames with Maya acting as the filler. I then experimented with Spline and Stepped animation in the graph editor.

Original bouncy ball didn’t seem quite right.

Adding  anticipation and fixing the timing.

I then wanted to experiment again with a heavier ball like a bowling ball- but I wanted the ball to have a little personality. I made it change weight from a bouncy ball to a bowling ball mid bounce.

Leave a Reply

