Star Wars Adaptations

When looking  at a lot of the posters used in the war, I found that I was very drawn to the female paintings, with the realistic painting. Artists gave women a more beautified flawless look, in order to attract them to jobs like engineering, tank driving, nurses and factory work. This was due to the limited ‘man-power’ as men were abroad fighting.

J Howard Miller was one artist I found myself very attracted to- he is the man behind the iconic ‘We Can Do It!’ (Rosie the Riveter) poster. Miller was believed to have based the poster on a photo of Geraldine Doyle working at a factory, taken by the United Press International. The original artwork by Miller was created in paint. However with my own experimentation I wanted to use a tonal study look first off. Caitlin made wonderful graphic prints of iconic images from Star Wars and I wanted to create something maybe she could edit to look like a holographic image, like the holographic transmission of Princess Leia on R2-D2.

The hologram featured in Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. (Star Wars Episode IV:A New Hope, 1977).

For my piece I wanted to look at the use of characters in similar styles to Miller’s work. For this I decided to use the storm trooper as my model.

 

When researching Miller’s work I stumbled across that of Norman Rockwell (the illustrator of the cover that Miller was influenced by). His work has more of a caricature like influence to it- the people having more expression, interacting with both each other and the background. I really liked his work- maybe another influence to incorporate into my own work.

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 12.55.03.png

An insight taken from Rockwell’s website.(Art.co.uk, 2016).

Images from art.co.uk. (Art.co.uk, 2016).

 

A rough sketch (above). While watching the movie for like the 103240th time I did thing little rendition based on the likes of Miller and Rockwell’s work. I focused on the stylised look of the girl. The dainty features and made up face with rouge lips were characteristics I noticed in a lot of these posters. Along with the look on their faces- strong and bold. I also looked into the comic style of artists like Gil Kane, we agreed it would be good to combine the graphic novel look with the illustration painting.

Another little experiment I did while watching the film. Based on the American World War 2 Poster “Let’s Catch Him with his Panzers Down.” I liked the comic relief in a lot of these posters- added a less serious note to an urgent situation.

References

Star Wars Episode IV:A New Hope (1977) Directly by George Lucas [Film]. USA: 20th Century Fox.

Counter, R. (2015). Why You Keep Reading Obituaries for Rosie the Riveter. [online] Vanity Fair. Available at: http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/2015/05/why-you-keep-reading-obituaries-rosie-riveter [Accessed 7 Feb. 2016].

Art.co.uk, (2016). Norman Rockwell, Photos and Prints at Art.co.uk. [online] Available at: http://www.art.co.uk/gallery/id–a32/norman-rockwell-prints_p5.htm?ui=918574EF5B774B289B6D2C3A8AC00146 [Accessed 7 Feb. 2016].

Aline IB English, (2014). Let’s Catch Him with his “Panzers” down!. [online] Available at: https://expelliarmuss.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/lets-catch-him-with-his-panzers-down/ [Accessed 17 Feb. 2016].

Leave a Reply

