Mood Board Inspiration

We noticed a lot of head shots were used in the graphic posters on our mood board, I wanted to experiment a little further with this styling. Milton Glaser once commented that, “less is not necessarily more, just enough it more,” and this is how I wanted to approach this idea. (Clifford, n.d.).

I had a few ideas on how to incorporate the head into something to do with parts, but it was Robert’s recommendation that cemented an idea in my head. He suggested I should make her head out of parts-kind of like what Giuseppe Arcimboldo did with faces of fruit and vegetables.

The fruit faces by Giuseppe Arcimboldo. (Arcimboldo, 2016).

leia head sketch

My initial idea.

I wanted to keep the comic style that Jakub had been using when doing this poster, so let him watch me as I did it, advising me when I messed it up. Thought, to be honest, it actually looked pretty good!

I used computer circuit boards to give the hair the detail and then decided to use the B1 Battle Droid as the main face details. I then added the detail from the body of RED (the R2 unit that R2-D2 shot) as an ode to the phrase “tell no one.”

The above images are those that I used for reference when creating the head.

leia head edit.jpg

My final head edit- really liked how this one turned out. I tried to keep the detailing as simple as possible to keep her eyes are the main focus. I was inspired by the clean format used in the cover of one of the books I read in preparation for this project- the black, white and red looked very striking and fitted with the colour schemes of the Rebellion uniform.

 
Inspiration colour scheme wise.  (Laundy and Vignelli, 1980).

I then gave the image to Jakub and asked him to do some editing- having a mess around with the typography. We agreed that something like “Its on your head now” would look best.

leia head.jpg

References

Clifford, J. (n.d.). Graphic icons.

Arcimboldo, G. (2016). Giuseppe Arcimboldo – WikiArt.org. [online] Wikiart.org. Available at: http://www.wikiart.org/en/giuseppe-arcimboldo [Accessed 17 Feb. 2016].

Vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net, (2016). [online] Available at: http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/starwars/images/2/2c/R5d4.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20080404200713 [Accessed 17 Feb. 2016].

Creativecrash.com, (2016). [online] Available at: http://www.creativecrash.com/system/photos/000/309/121/309121/big/head.jpg?1374139572 [Accessed 17 Feb. 2016].

 Laundy, P. and Vignelli, M. (1980). Graphic design for non-profit organizations. New York, N.Y.: American Institute of Graphic Arts.

 

Leave a Reply

