The Final Waste Poster

When looking at Jakub’s original Leia design I had an idea immediately of what I wanted to do with the character. I wanted Leia to the main central graphic but to be used as if she was coming out of the image itself. I found myself looking at the famous Looney Tunes “That’s All Folks” end sequence. Although I didn’t want Leia to appear necessarily overlapping the circle, I wanted her presence to be felt outward from the poster (hopefully that makes sense.

That’s All Folks! (YouTube, 2016).

inner circle onlyI added the circle to the background, erasing the excess of Leia’s robe. I included the logo for the Rebel Alliance, I mean you have to label the poster somehow. I then played with adding the text. It was proving tricky to create something that looked like it belonged in the piece, so, I resulted to looking into how some of the other war posters displayed their typography.

poster insp

We really liked the gradient in the poster here, with the black to red, ending in a bar at the bottom of the poster. (Wolfsonian.org, 2016).

I experimented with this style for the poster and came up with the bottom two variations. We agreed that the 2nd poster was the better one as it made the text stand out the most.

 

 

References

YouTube, (2016). Thats all folks! Looney Tunes. [online] Available at: https://youtu.be/0FHEeG_uq5Y [Accessed 18 Feb. 2016].

Wolfsonian.org, (2016). This is the Enemy | Wolfsonian-FIU. [online] Available at: http://www.wolfsonian.org/explore/collections/enemy [Accessed 18 Feb. 2016].

Leave a Reply

