Roman Architecture

Ryan was the main researcher for architecture in Rome. I wanted to explore this a bit more- I found a few key things in Roman architecture. Arches, vaults and concrete.

I already focused on the concrete before so wanted to look at the vaults and arch structure.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 18.10.34.png

Notes taken from (Anon, 2016).

Arc Image database. I wanted to compile a set of arch structures that we could look at for when creating our world. I really like the detailing in the Arch of Titus- this would be cool incorporated into the layers of our world somehow?

Romans were cited with the invention of two vault types- the barrel and the groin vault. It would be awesome to incorporate these with things like the overlap of the city- how parts could fit together if we wanted to create a multi tiered piece.

Another thing the architecture featured was that of columns.

I also wanted to keep a database of famous Roman buildings.

 

(1*)Anon, (2016). [online] Available at: http://pal.loswego.k12.or.us/art_lit/Rome-VolunteerPresentation-Notes.pdf [Accessed 4 Feb. 2016].

Leave a comment